Home > Current Affairs > The nine forms of Goddess Durga worshiped during Navratri

The nine forms of Goddess Durga worshiped during Navratri


The nine forms of Goddess Durga worshipped during Navratri


During the Navratri festival, nine different forms of Goddess Durga are worshipped. The names of these 9 forms of Maa Durga are Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri.
She has many forms and many names and devotees worship all these forms during this nine-day celebration. Celebrating Navratri is the recognition of divine power in the nine forms of Maa Durga and in her every name. These nine days of celebration comes to an end with Dussehra, a festival symbolizing the victory of good over evil. The nine nights of Navratri festival are dedicated to nine different forms of Mother Goddess, also known as Nav Durga.

Day 1 – Shailputri
The first day of Navratri is dedicated to Shailputri Mata. She is the first divine form of Maa Durga, Shail means ‘Shikhar’. So, Shailputri means the daughter of Parvat (Shikhar). It is generally believed that Goddess Shailputri is the daughter of Mount Kailash.
And she is usually seen donning red colour. So, if you wear red clothes on this day and pray to her, she will take away all your problems.

Day 2 – Brahmacharini
Brahma means austerity and Charini means one who conducts, that is to conduct austerities. Brahmacharini is worshipped as the goddess of penance, sacrifice, and ascetic lifestyle. The devotees who worship this form of Maa Durga are blessed with honour, recognition, and glory.

Also read: The 1992 Big Bull scandal: How one man scammed the stock market for millions

Day 3 – Chandraghanta
Mother Chandraghanta is worshipped on the third day of Navratri. She has a half-moon shaped like a ghanta on her forehead and that’s why she’s called Chandraghanta. It is believed that by her grace, one can get rid of all the troubles of the world.
She is said to prefer green, so it’s better to wear a green colour on the third day of Navratri.

Day 4 – Kushmanda
Mother Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth day of Navratri. Maa Kushmanda created the universe from her belly. It is believed that devotees who worship this form of Maa Durga, they never suffer any kind of pain and are bestowed upon wealth and fame.

Also read: Popular Hashtags you should use while posting on Instagram!

Day 5 – Skandamata
On the fifth day of Navratri, Adishakti Maa Durga is worshipped as Skandamata. Being the mother of Kumar Karthikeya, she was named Skandamata. She is also called Padmasanadevi.

Day 6 – Katyayani
On the sixth day, Katyayani, another divine form of Maa Durga is worshipped. It is said that Maa Durga took birth as the daughter of Maharishi Katyayen, who named her Katyayani, after getting pleased by his penance.
She is very fond of the colour white. This colour is considered a symbol of peace and purity.

Day 7 – Kalratri
Maa Kalratri is worshipped on the seventh day of Navratri. Goddess Durga took the form of Kalratri to end all demons. It is believed that one can get rid of all kinds of ghosts, vampires, and fears by just remembering her name.

Day 8 – Mahagauri
The eighth day is dedicated to Maa Mahagauri. The name Mahagauri means extremely white. After turning to Kali, Maa Durga performed severe penance to Brahma to get her fair complexion back.
She has four arms and is seen riding a bull.

Day 9 – Siddhidatri
On the ninth day of Navratri, Siddhidatri Mata is worshipped; Siddhi means supernatural power or meditative ability, and Datri means giver or awarder. It is believed that one side of Lord Shiva’s body is that of Goddess Siddhidatri. Devotees who worship her get all their hopes and aspirations fulfilled.